A new beginning and an ending

I just grafted the pair of kilt hose which I have been making for what seems like forever. They need a good blocking but otherwise they are complete. Thus ending any guilt knitting for a while, I can knit what I want when I want and not worry about neglecting the commission.

Yesterday I couldn’t bear anything but the truly simple, so what did I do? I swatched some Cascade 220 to test which size needles I will need to purchase to make my sweater. I got an even 5 sts per inch on size 4 needles. Yes I am that loose of a knitter. This is the closest picture I could get in the dark to capture the color, its not a shiny yarn so the color is right but imagine it as a more matte tone.
While I was knitting a swatch the boy took a picture of my hands while I worked. My first thought was how skelatal my hands look while I knit, all the bones seem to stand out, but at the same time my hands look strong. Its been so long since I felt truly strong so this picture makes me smile and remember that being able to lift heavy things isn’t everything in life.

One thought on “A new beginning and an ending

Leave a Reply

