Something From the Nightside, a review

Something From the Nightside

Simon R. Green

978-0441010653

The first thing about this book is the writing.  Simon R. Green’s voice is more like freestyle poetry than prose. It swings and sucks you in with the rhythm of the words. I long to hear it read out loud. I’ve never read a book where I was sad a description of a person or place was over. That alone could carry the book.

That being said this book a good plot, a private eye, a mother searching for a lost daughter.  The plot is mostly there to carry the characters along and I’m not complaining.  I live for good characters, and the plot isn’t lost,  its just overshadowed by the brilliance of the people and setting.

As far as the ending,  I didn’t see it coming until the moment it happened and it tied up all the ends it needed to and left enough loose ends to make me wish I could go ahead and start the next book.

Why did I take this long to read this book? All I can say is that this is the first time I’ve come across the first in the series and I will be coming back for more.

 

Leave a Reply

